DREAMS

I have dreams that engulf my reality,

So real I walk and talk in them,

I laugh and smile at the scenes,

And feel pain when I fall and bruise,

Dreams that need my eyes open,

To see the path that forms before me,

A map drawn from my heart,

With roads and inroads that branch at will,

And yet I never seem to stumble on my next step,

Or wish I had followed the road on my left,

Nor do I fear when my vision is blocked by a turn,

I’ll turn when I reach the bend,

I’ll not miss my step and fall before I see what’s beyond the bend,

Maybe the path will not split again,

And loop to where I stand,

Maybe the path will split again,

And I get to enjoy the ride,

Of walking the unknown with surety,

Not afraid that I was once told of the twists ahead,

By those who decided they needed to wake from the dream.

Leave a comment